The Search for Marietta's 18th President

Three presidential finalists ready to meet, interact with campus

November 2, 2011

Marietta College’s presidential search committee, chaired by C. Brent McCurdy ’68 of the Board of Trustees, has announced the names of three candidates who will conduct on-campus interviews beginning Nov. 6. The person selected will succeed President Jean A. Scott, who will retire on June 30, 2012.

The three finalists are Dr. Charlotte G. Borst, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty at Whittier College; Dr. Joseph W. Bruno, Professor of Chemistry at Wesleyan University; Dr. Vincent M. Maniaci, President at American International College.

“The search committee is excited about the finalists, and we believe each of these individuals is well prepared to lead Marietta and is fully capable of extending the effective leadership of President Scott,” McCurdy says.




Presidential search narrowed to 8 semifinalists

October 7, 2011

Marietta College's Presidential Search Committee has narrowed the field to several semifinalists from a variety of positions, including several sitting presidents. Brent McCurdy, chair of the committee, says they received more than 60 applicants and the group feels they have "some really strong candidates remaining."

The next step is to hold off-campus interviews with the semifinalists Oct. 10-14, 2011. The full committee will reconvene shortly thereafter to identify the finalists for more in-depth interviewing on campus.

C. Brent McCurdy '68
Chair, President Search Committee 



May 13, 2011

Members of the Marietta College Faculty, Staff, and Students,

Pursuant to the Board of Trustees meeting this past week, the format and structure of the national search for Marietta College's 18th President is now in place and here is how we see it proceeding over the next 8-10 months.

The committee is comprised of C. Brent McCurdy '68 (Committee Chair and Trustee) Grant Callery '68 (Trustee), George Fenton (Trustee), John Langel '70 (Trustee), Don Ritter '81 (Trustee), Toni Robinson-Smith (Trustee), Dale Wartluft '63 (Trustee), Patricia Loreno Willis '70 (Trustee), Bill Donnelly '70 (Community), Matt Weekley '81 (MCAA), John Tynan (Faculty Chair), Mary Barnas (Faculty), Kathryn McDaniel (Faculty), Ryan Nolen '12 (Student Senate President) and Bob Pastoor (VP for Student Life).

AGB Search ( out of Washington, D.C., is assisting us in the search.

First on the search committee's agenda is to develop a presidential profile that will guide us in evaluating potential candidates. This process began at the Board of Trustees meeting last week and will involve the full committee as early as next week. Over the summer, AGB will accumulate CVs and receive nominations for the position. By Fall AGB will have talked to all viable candidates and then report to the search committee.

The committee will evaluate all feasible candidates and narrow that pool down to 12-15 candidates. Each of these candidates will be interviewed by the search committee. The committee will then select up to three finalists and present those finalists to the College's Board of Trustees in late 2011 or early 2012. Those candidates will then be brought to campus to interview and conduct open forums with the campus. Input from the entire campus is critical in our evaluation process.

The Board of Trustees expects to announce the new President in late January or early February 2012.

If you have questions about the search process, please don't hesitate to contact me. 

I am pleased and honored to be chairing this most important search and look forward to working with our committee and our professional partner to achieve the best possible fit for the future leadership of Marietta College.

C. Brent McCurdy ' 68
Chair, President Search Committee