Departmental Awards

The DeLancey Memorial Fund

Established in 1976 by Mrs. Floy W. DeLancey in memory of her husband, Dr. Blaine Morrison DeLancey, class of 1923, and their son, Dr. Robert W. DeLancey, a member of the class of 1947. Both father and son taught English at the university level. Income from the fund provides scholarship assistance to an outstanding senior majoring in English literature.

The Harrington Prize

Established in 1985 by attorney and novelist William G. Harrington, class of 1953, Litt.D. 1984, recognizes excellence in writing and reinforces the goals and cross-disciplinary spirit of the College's communication skills requirement. The annual cash prize is awarded at commencement to the student who has evidenced continued quality in writing as demonstrated by a portfolio of writing, including work completed over a two-to-three-year period, submitted for judgment by members of the English department faculty.

The Ione Congdon Hammond Memorial Prize

Established by the late Donald J. Wormer in memory of his wife, Ione Congdon Hammond, Class of 1914. Then annual prize is awarded to the woman of the graduating class who has shown the most sincere application to and appreciation of English literature during her college study. Each candidate shall have read several of the novels of Dickens under the supervision of her instructor.

The Lawrence M. Howard Memorial Scholarship Fund

Established in 1985 by family and friends of Mr. Howard, class of 1941, whose lifelong writing and journalistic career spanned 44 years. Mr. Howard began his writing career in 1941 as a reporter for a Vermont newspaper, later working three years for a U.S. Army newspaper during World War II, and following the war, returning to Vermont where he held reporting and editing positions at two newspapers. In 1954 he joined the Providence (R.I.) Journal Bulletin as a reporter, and in 1966 became state news editor, advancing in 1971 to associate managing editor, the position he held at the time of his death. He was an officer and member of the board of directors of the New England Society of Newspaper Editors (NESNE), and since 1982 was actively involved in NESNE Soviet Union journalist exchange conferences to promote better understanding between the United States and the former Soviet Union.

The scholarship recognizes Mr. Howard's lifelong commitment to the liberal arts and to excellence in creative and journalistic writing. The scholarship is open to juniors and seniors majoring in any subject who must apply by submitting a portfolio of writing samples to a committee composed of faculty from the English department and at least two outside professional writers, one being an established creative writer and the other a seasoned journalist. The scholarship will be awarded entirely on writing merit without regard to financial need. Donors would appreciate recipients of the grant making contributions to this fund principal when possible so that the amount will grow and serve more students in future years.

The Beatrice A. Kremer Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a man or woman of the junior class who, in the judgment of the Department of English faculty, has compiled a distinguished record in English courses at Marietta College. Preference in selection is given to English majors who plan to teach that subject following graduation. Established in 1970, the scholarship is in memory of Miss Beatrice A. Kremer, class of 1930, who taught English in the Marietta public schools for more than 40 years. Original donors were her nephews: the late James F. Kremer, class of 1935; Richard P. Kremer, class of 1939; and Dr. Frederick J. Kremer, class of 1943.

The Margaret Ward Martin Prize

May be awarded annually to the junior or senior submitting the best original piece of creative writing. Manuscripts must be submitted to the Department of English faculty not later than April 15. No person having once received the prize shall be eligible for it again. It is given in memory of Margaret Ward Martin, class of 1934, by her family, Mrs. Eleanor Ward Lemon, class of 1930; the late Mrs. Mary Ward Gleysteen, class of 1932; and the late Mrs. Asa E. Ward, class of 1902.

The Merrill Reeves Patterson Medal

Presented at commencement each year to the graduating English major who, in the judgment of the Department of English faculty, has performed meritorious work in English literature, preferably with attention to Shakespeare. The medal, first awarded in 1980, honors the late Dr. Patterson, Hillyer professor and chairman of the Department of English (1939-67), director of academic advising (1967-72), and mentor to countless students who affectionately called him "Dean Pat."

The Burton E. Stevenson Prizes

May be awarded annually for essays devoted to some phase of American literature. Topics should be assigned by the instructor in American literature or by the head of the Department of English. Manuscripts must be submitted to the Department of English faculty not later than April 15 of the current year. Recipients of prizes are not eligible to compete again. The prizes were established by the late Burton E. Stevenson, Litt.D., 1955.