Student Drawing

McCoy Scholarship

Valued at more than $155,000 across four years, the McCoy Scholarship provides a guarantee of total direct costs equal to tuition, room and board at Marietta College for four years. This award supercedes all other college funded awards.

The scholarship was endowed by John G. McCoy '35 and Jeanne B. McCoy to promote and recognize outstanding academic ability and achievement in an incoming freshman student.

Trustees' Scholarship (up to 10 awarded)

Valued at more than $115,800 across four years, the Trustees' Scholarship provides a scholarship equal to full tuition at Marietta College for four years.

This award replaces all other non-need based college funded awards.

President's Scholarship (up to 20 awarded)

Valued at more than $57,900 across four years, the President's Scholarship provides a scholarship equal to half tuition at Marietta College for four years.

Dean's Scholarship

The annual scholarships provide between $10,000-$14,000 renewable for four years.

The amount will be based on academic ability and the scholarship competition.

92% of Marietta students receive need-based financial aid; the average package is over $26,741.

91% of freshmen & transfers receive some form of financial aid.

To be considered for need-based grants, loans, and employment opportunities, students must:

  1. Be admitted to the College
  2. File the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Be sure to send Marietta your aid information. Our FAFSA number is 003073.

Office of Student Financial Services
Fax: 740-376-4990

Admission inquiries
Office of Admission 800-331-7896

Request Info Virtual Tour
About Feature 1

Pioneer Scholars

Pioneer Scholars are a select group of students who rank among the best college-bound seniors in the nation based on their strong high school academic records and test scores. We believe these extraordinary students are poised to take full advantage of every opportunity at Marietta College.

The Pioneer Scholars Program is designed to recognize and encourage the next generation of pioneers and perpetuates our spirit and heritage. In 1860, Marietta College was the 16th recipient among prestigious colleges of Phi Beta Kappa, the most revered academic honor society. Today, our curricular blending of the liberal arts tradition with contemporary relevance is innovative.

Pioneer Scholars will be recognized within the Marietta College community and will be guaranteed an $10,000-$14,000 Dean's Scholarship (renewable for four years) along with the opportunity to compete for higher monetary scholarships through the Pioneer Scholars Competition.

The competition, including an essay and an academic exchange with faculty, allows us to further determine a student's capability to benefit from and contribute to Marietta College's intellectual community.

Higher levels of scholarship are determined by a student's:

  • academic achievements,
  • extracurricular accomplishments,
  • demonstrated leadership and
  • scholarship competition evaluation.

Annual renewal of scholarships requires students to:

  • maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0 annually,
  • be in good standing in the community, and
  • make standard academic progress while studying at Marietta College to annually renew their awards.

All scholarships through the Pioneer Scholars program can only be used to defray tuition costs, except for the McCoy Scholarship, for full time enrollment at Marietta College. President's and Dean's Scholars are also eligible for consideration of one additional non-need based Marietta College award.

To register for the Pioneer Scholarship Competition, click here

Stats Banner