Latest Commencement News

Commencement Archives

Important Documents

Commencement Schedule

Senior Send Off Schedule

Commencement Guidelines

Student Letter

Commencement Photographer

Parent Invitation

Jewett Competition


Lodging and Local Attractions

Office of Alumni Relations

View Campus Map

View City Map

Graduate with Cap on


May 19, 2007 -- Marietta College President Dr. Jean A. Scott and Provost Dr. Sue DeWine handed out more than 310 diplomas Saturday, May 19, during the 170th annual commencement ceremony in the Dyson Baudo Recreation Center in front of more than 2,000 family and friends (View the photo gallery).

Daniel J. May Jr. of Twinsburg, Ohio, was awarded the coveted Jewett Oration Prize. May's speech explored how he ended up at Marietta College after he was already committed to another institution. (Download the speech(PDF).)

Craig D. Sundstrom of Mentor, Ohio, finished second. (Download the speech(PDF).)

The College also honored some of its finest graduates, including valedictorian Katherine E. Chadwell of Georgetown, Ohio, and salutatorian Jennifer M. Hedges of Coolville, Ohio. Chadwell, who finished with a perfect 4.0 grade point average, earned a Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communication.

The men and women who received their degrees Sunday join the more than 18,000 Marietta College alumni/ae as members of the Long Blue Line.

While already a member of the Long Blue Line, Laura Baudo Sillerman '68 added an honorary degree to her Marietta College resume, as she was conferred a Doctor of Laws degree. Sillerman also gave the keynote commencement address (PDF) as she recalled many inspiring experiences of Marietta College alumni. Sillerman was also in Marietta Friday for the College's ceremonial groundbreaking of the Legacy Library.

Marietta College officials also handed out 82 master’s degrees.

Marietta faculty member, Dr. Barbara MacHaffie, of the Department of History, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion, was awarded the Outstanding Faculty Award. MacHaffie is retiring after 20 years at Marietta.